Porchtime Pickle Preview


Finally. My first pickling attempt has taken place and….it was fun!

I kind of knew that I would enjoy the process because I generally love to make dishes that require some assemblage such as enchiladas, lasagna, spring rolls etc. and the pickling process was right up my alley.

I pickled eggs for a couple of reasons. For starters, my cucumbers are not ready yet and also Henry’s had eggs on sale for 88 cents. At that price, it was buy them and throw them at the cars driving by on Washington or pickle those bad boys!

I found a recipe online for “Sweet Pickled Eggs” which I of course altered except for the brine. I added garlic, dill, a radish and a carrot to each jar. The brine was simply water, vinegar, sugar and pickling spice. I didn’t have pickling spice, so I used Zataran’s crab boil as it was practically the same thing. I’ll have to update y’all when we taste them in about a week, but they sure look yummy!

2 Responses to “Porchtime Pickle Preview”

  1. jeanabizz Says:

    PLEASE keep us updated! I keep thinking of all those summer veggies to can and pickle later. Id love to know how your eggs turned out and what the procedure was. Thanks!!

  2. Tammy McLeod Says:

    Your jars look beautiful!! My sister in law and I were just talking about canning and preserves this weekend. I grew up in a house that did it often. She leads a 4-H group of kids that would benefit by doing it. I’m going to send her your post as inspiration.


Leave a Reply

