Comfort Food Cravings


I swear you are all going to think that all I do is fry things! I promise I don’t, it’s just that its so yummy, I’m inspired to write about it.

Remember the Fried Chicken Mushroom post? Well, the other night we had family over to include my super skinny 18 and 20 year old nephews Nick and Ryan and their friend Will, and wow can they eat! I love cooking for people that really love to eat like that.

Here was what I made for them (of course all from scratch)

Chicken Fried Steak Mushrooms

Mashed Potatoes with Mushroom/Buttermilk Gravy

Garden Greens

Broccoli Cheddar Corn Muffins

and for dessert, Meyer Lemon Scented Sponge Cake with Strawberries/Blackberries and Whipped Cream

I knew I wanted to make the chicken fried mushrooms again, but we had decided to make them with the seasoning from Paul Prudhomme’s Chicken Fried Steak recipe. I bought the Organic King Oyster Mushrooms this time and wow! what a great texture. I sliced them lengthwise and marinated them in the buttermilk and the spices as before. The new spice mix was much better, more complex and really gave it that country style taste.

To make the mushroom gravy, I simply used trim from my Oyster mushrooms and a few dried shitakes and simmered them on the back of the stove to make a mushroom stock. After frying the mushrooms, I kept them warm in the oven and used the mushroom stock to deglaze the pan. There was already flour in the little bit of oil from frying the mushrooms, so I just simmered it down and then added a little buttermilk and more of the seasoning. It was great on the potatoes and the “chicken”.

You’ll notice that we had greens, of course! I made them more traditionally than usual with balsamic and a little prosciutto, garlic and some red onion and cooked them down. The meal was rounded out with the corn muffins, which I snuck even more veggies into with a little chopped up broccoli.

you'd think his mother never fed him!

I was very pleased with the cake, because I don’t bake that much and usually feel a little intimidated. I knew I wanted a strawberry shortcake type dish but did not want to buy those gross little ones from the store. The cake was actually really easy and everyone wolfed it down. I also got to use my really nifty whipped cream maker, fun!

Except for the 1/4 cup or so of diced prosciutto, this meal was completely vegetarian. The cake was completely organic, even the whipping cream.

Feeding people I love is such a joy, thanks for coming over guys!

2 Responses to “Comfort Food Cravings”

  1. Tammy McLeod Says:

    I love these pictures! I have three boys and a fourth (my husband) and nothing is more satisfying than seeing their heads bent over a meal that I’ve prepared. Thanks for sharing!

  2. lusciouslylocal Says:

    what a great way to put that! thank you so much Tammy.


Leave a Reply

